X

Plan Your Experience

  • hero-image3
  • sadiyatbeachbanner2
  • sadiyatbeachbanner3
  • sadiyatbeachbanner4
  • sadiyatbeachbanner1

Saadiyat Beach

Saadiyat Beach is a natural beach that supports remnant coastal dune vegetation. This vegetation grows without any irrigation, living on moisture from infrequent rainfall and heavy fogs experienced on the island. Its sensitivity to disturbance has led to the creation of the Saadiyat Dune Protection Zone, which is at least 60 metres wide.

Saadiyat Beach Blue Flag

TDIC has been awarded the Blue Flag for Saadiyat Beach since 2013. The Blue Flag is a voluntary eco-label awarded to more than 3,850 beaches and marinas across the world. The Blue Flag works towards sustainable operations of beaches through strict quality criteria dealing with Water Quality, Environmental Education and Information, Environmental Management and Safety and other services.

Downloadable Documents

Dune Protection Zone

Dune Protection Zone

Access to Saadiyat Beach is available through specially-created boardwalks that allow people to cross over the dunes without damaging them, while access through the dunes remains open underneath.

It is important to protect these rare, low coastal dunes as they are vital for the preservation of Abu Dhabi’s flora and fauna. They also act as a natural barrier to storm waves for beachfront properties.

The Dunes, fronted by a deep sandy beach, form the preferred nesting habitat for the critically endangered Hawksbill Turtle, which come ashore each year to nest, mainly between April and July. Hatchlings emerge from the nest approximately 60 days after nesting.

Additionally, gazelles, birds, reptiles and smaller mammals such as gerbils can be spotted within the Saadiyat Dune Protection Zone, whether to use it as a nesting area or feeding ground and hiding place, along with the Saadiyat Beach Golf Course.

The coastal waters of Saadiyat Beach similarly feature a number of Abu Dhabi’s prominent species, including Indo-Pacific humpback and bottlenose dolphins, green turtles, stingrays and blacktip sharks.

View More

Beach activities

Beach activities

Beach clean ups. Although the beach is cleaned on a daily basis, the cleaners do not normally collect litter in the Dune Protection Zone due to its sensitivity. Annual clean up events are organized involving the larger community, in order to raise awareness about littering at sea and its impacts on marine and coastal ecosystems.

Dune restoration

Dune restoration

In some areas of Saadiyat Beach, the original dunes have been removed as a result of historic land use. TDIC, in collaboration with its contractors and operators, have undertaken a number of dune restoration initiatives, adding approximately 2000m2 of dunes to the Saadiyat Dune Protection Zone. The purpose of this activity was to create additional vegetated dune areas on the seaward side of the Saadiyat Beach Golf Club pathway, which wraps around the front of The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort. These newly vegetated areas will enhance the beach, and in turn further increase the nesting habitat for the critically endangered Hawksbill Turtles, which return here to nest every year between April and July. This activity forms part of TDIC’s ongoing commitment towards sustainability and environmental best practice.

Speaking on the event, Dr. Nathalie Staelens, Head of Environment at TDIC, explains: “What sets our developments on Saadiyat Island apart from many other coastal developments in the Arabian Gulf, is that important environmental assets such as the Saadiyat Dune Protection Zone are being considered as an integral part of the development, thereby increasing the value of our developments by building with nature and not against it. As a part of this philosophy, we work closely with operators and building contractors to protect and enhance natural assets, increasing awareness and showcasing Abu Dhabi’s commitment to the environment and sustainability for visitors from all over the world to witness.”

View More

Turtle Talks

Turtle Talks

TDIC Environment Department gives regular turtle talks to various stakeholders of the beach, including beach cleaners, life guards and the general public. These talks aim to raise awareness about the plight of critically endangered Hawksbill Turtles and their annual return to Saadiyat Beach to nest.

 

ABOUT HAWKSBILL TURTLES

  • Their name is derived from their hawk-like beak
  • They can grow to 110 cm in length and weigh up to 70 kg
  • They live in the tropical/subtropical waters of the Indian, Pacific and Atlantic oceans.
  • They love rocky areas, coral reefs, shallow coastal areas, lagoons, and oceanic islands.
  • They mainly feed on sponges, jellyfish and small invertebrates.
  • They are critically endangered and their population is decreasing.
  • The global Hawksbill turtle population has fallen more than 80% over the last 30 years.
  • They can live longer than 50 years
  • Their sex is determined by the temperature of the eggs in the nest. Warmer nests give rise to female hatchlings.

View More

About Mangroves

  • The grey mangrove, Avicennia marina, is the only species of mangrove that occurs naturally in the UAE
  • The mangroves play a great role in protecting the coastal shorelines from erosion, likewise they provide sheltered areas for native fish to breed; they act as carbon sinks and are destinations for migratory birdlife including flamingos, which can be found in the mangroves between November and April.
  • Have aerial roots which allow plant to absorb oxygen while submerged and provide good anchoring in sediment
  • Grey Mangrove have leaves with glands that excrete salt.
  • Grey Mangrove can also tolerate the storage of large amounts of salt in their leaves – which are shed when the salt load gets too high.

Images and Video

  • Clean up UAEBaby Hawksbill Turtle at Saadiyat islandSaadiyatbeach1Saadiyatbeach2Saadiyat Beach3Saadiyatbeach4Saadiyatbeach5Saadiyatbeach6Saadiyatbeach7Saadiyatbeach8Saadiyatbeach9Saadiyatbeach10Turtle Talk

Video Section

  • Turtle Talk

X

خطط لاكتشاف الجزيرة

  • hero-image3
  • sadiyatbeachbanner2
  • sadiyatbeachbanner3
  • sadiyatbeachbanner4
  • sadiyatbeachbanner1

شاطئ السعديات

لعل أكثر ما يميز شاطئ السعديات هو الكثبان الرملية المغطاة بالنباتات الخضراء الطبيعية، التي تنمو طبيعياً دون ري لها بل تعتمد على الهطولات المطرية السنوية والرطوبة المستمدة من الضباب الكثيف في المنطقة، ولضمان استدامة هذه المحمية الطبيعية الفريدة، تم إنشاء "محمية الكثبان الرملية" على عرض 60 متراً من الشاطئ كحد أدنى. 

محمية الكثبان الرملية

محمية الكثبان الرملية

تم تخصيص ممرات خشبية مرتفعة للوصول إلى شاطئ السعديات لمنع إلحاق أي أضرار بالكثبان الساحلية المنخفضة النادرة، هذه المنطقة الحساسة التي تمتلك أهمية في الحفاظ على الحياة النباتية والحيوانية التي تشتهر بها أبوظبي فضلًا عن وظيفتها كحواجز طبيعية للموجات العاصفة التي قد تضرب الوحدات السكنية القائمة على الواجهة البحرية.

كما تنبع أهمية الكثبان الرملية الواقعة قبالة الشاطئ بكونها موطناً طبيعياً للسلاحف الصقرية المنقار المهددة بالانقراض التي تأتي كل عام بين شهري أبريل ومايو لتضع بيوضها وتفقس بعد 60 يوماً.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يحظى الزوار بفرصة مشاهدة الغزلان والطيور والزواحف والثدييات الصغيرة مثل الجربوع داخل محمية الكثبان الرملية في السعديات، وتأتي هذه الحيوانات إلى المحمية إما من أجل التكاثر أو بحثاً عن الطعام أو الاختباء، كما يمكن رؤية بعضها في ملعب الجولف في السعديات.

أما المياه الفيروزية لشاطئ السعديات، فتعيش فيها مجموعة من أبرز الفصائل البحرية مثل الحوت الأحدب والدلافين قارورية الأنف والسلاحف الخضراء والراي اللاسع وأسماك القرش ذات الزعنفة السوداء. 

عرض المزيد

الأنشطة المقامة على شاطئ السعديات

الأنشطة المقامة على شاطئ السعديات

حملة تنظيف الشاطئ:

رغم أن عمليات تنظيف شاطئ السعديات تجري كل يوم، إلا أنها لا تطال منطقة محمية الكثبان الرملية، وذلك مراعاة لحساسية المكان، وبهذا الصدد يتم إجراء حملات تنظيف خاصة تشارك فيها المؤسسات والشركات، وذلك بهدف رفع مستوى الوعي بالآثار السلبية الناجمة عن رمي النفايات في البحر وأثر ذلك على الحياة البحرية والساحلية. 

المحافظة على الكثبان الرملية

المحافظة على الكثبان الرملية

أزيلت بعض الكثبان الرملية الأصلية في بعض المواقع على شاطئ السعديات نتيجة لاستخدام الأراضي عبر الزمن. وبهذا الصدد، أجرت شركة التطوير والاستثمار السياحي بالتعاون مع المقاولين والجهات المشغلة مجموعة من المبادرات التي تعنى باستعادة الكثبان الرملية، مما أسفر عن زيادة مساحة الكثبان الرملية بمقدار 2000 متر مربع وضمها إلى محمية الكثبان الرملية في السعديات. وتهدف هذه الخطوة إلى إيجاد كثبان رملية مخضرة إضافية في الطريق البحري المؤدي إلى نادي جولف شاطئ السعديات الذي يلف المنطقة المقابلة لمنتجع سانت ريجيس جزيرة السعديات، مما تعزز جمالية المنظر العام للشاطئ، وسيسهم في إيجاد مواطن إضافية لتعشيش السلاحف الصقرية المنقار المهددة بالانقراض والتي تعود سنوياً إلى الشاطئ لتضع بيوضها بين شهري أبريل ويوليو. وتأتي هذه الحملة في إطار التزام شركة التطوير الاستثمار السياحي بالاستدامة وتطبيق أفضل الممارسات البيئية.

 

وفي هذا الصدد تقول الدكتورة نتالي ستايلنس، مدير إدارة الخدمات البيئية في شركة التطوير والاستثمار السياحي: "إن ما يميز مشاريعنا التطويرية الجارية على شاطئ السعديات عن غيرها من المشاريع المقامة في منطقة الخليج العربي، هو مراعاتنا كل ما يتعلق بأمور البيئة لا سيما محمية الكثبان الرملية في جزيرة السعديات، الأمر الذي يسهم في زيادة قيمة هذه المشاريع وتعزيز الحياة الطبيعية والمحافظة عليها. وانطلاقاً من هذه الفلسفة، نعزز تعاوننا مع المقاولين والجهات المشغلة من أجل حماية الموارد الطبيعية وتعزيزها ورفع مستوى الوعي وإظهار مدى التزام أبوظبي بحماية البيئة ليشهد على ذلك الزوار الذين يقصدونها من مختلف أرجاء العالم".   

عرض المزيد

ندوات حول السلاحف:

ندوات حول السلاحف:

يعقد قسم الاستدامة البيئية في شركة التطوير والاستثمار السياحي جلسات دورية حول السلاحف مع العاملين على شاطئ السعديات كالمنظفين والمنقذين والجمهور بهدف رفع مستوى الوعي بأهمية المحافظة على السلاحف صقرية المنقار المهددة بالانقراض لضمان عودتها إلى شاطئ السعديات كل عام لتضع بيوضها فيه.

حقائق حول السلاحف صقرية المنقار

  • جاءت تسميتها بسبب منقارها الذي يشبه إلى حد كبير منقار الصقر.
  • تنمو هذه السلاحف ليصل طولها إلى 110 سم ووزنها 70 كغ.
  • تعيش السلاحف في المياه الإستوائية وشبة الاستوائية في المحيط الأطلسي والمحيط الهندي.
  • تفضل هذه السلاحف العيش في المناطق الصخرية والمياه الساحلية الضحلة والبحيرات والجزر المحيطية.
  • تتغذى بشكل رئيسي على الإسفنج وقنديل البحر واللافقاريات الصغيرة.
  • تعد السلاحف من الزواحف المهددة بالانقراض، حيث أعدادها آخذة في التناقص.
  • انخفض عدد السلاحف صقرية المنقار إلى 80% خلال السنوات الثلاثين الأخيرة.
  • يمتد بها العمر لأكثر من 50 عاماً
  • يعتمد جنس السلاحف على درجة حرارة البيوض في العش. فالأعشاش الأكثر دفئاً تسمح لتفقيس البيوض التي تحمل إناثاً.

أشجار القرم

 

  • القرم الرمادي، أو القرم البحري، هو النوع الوحيد من أشجار القرم الذي ينمو بشكل طبيعي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
  • تمتلك أشجار القرم أهمية كبيرة في حماية الشواطئ الساحلية من الانجراف، كما أنها توفر موطناً آمناً للحيوانات البحرية في المنطقة للتكاثر، فهي تمتص غاز الكربون كما أنها وجهة مفضلة للطيور المهاجرة مثل طيور الفلامنغو التي تتواجد في منطقة القرم بين شهري نوفمبر وأبريل. 
  • تتميز أشجار القرم بجذورها الهوائية التي تتيح لها امتصاص الأكسجين بينما الجذور المغمورة بالماء، فتدعم النبات في التشبث في الأرض.
  • تتميز أوراق القرم الرمادي بوجود غدد خاصة قادرة على طرح الأملاح.
  • كما تستطيع أشجار القرم الرمادي تخزين كميات كبيرة من الملح في أوراقها التي تقع عندما تزداد نسبة الأملاح فيها.

الصور و الفيديو

  • Clean up UAEBaby Hawksbill Turtle at Saadiyat islandSaadiyatbeach1Saadiyatbeach2Saadiyat Beach3Saadiyatbeach4Saadiyatbeach5Saadiyatbeach6Saadiyatbeach7Saadiyatbeach8Saadiyatbeach9Saadiyatbeach10Turtle Talk

قسم الفيديو